“The Afterlife of Tarzan and Jane”

Here is a new finished piece I started a few months ago, “The Afterlife of Tarzan and Jane”.

All of the writing is my own from stream of consciousness journaling on the fabric, and all of the embellishments are from my ever-expanding trinket collection (I’m sure you can relate). For this project, though, the majority of the trimmings come from my grandmother’s stash of décor from her husbands’ WWII Navy uniforms.

While at the Long Beach International Quilt Festival I met Jane LaFazio, who inspired me with her small, embellished blocks. This brought my love of collage, sewing, quilting, trinket collecting, and my need to have my work directly in my hands all into one project. As I’ve mentioned before, sometimes machine quilting felt too removed, and it’s very important to me to have everything right at my fingertips.

The blocks are stitched onto black burlap. The entire piece is 20″ x 16″.

Leave a Reply

