Paula

Here’s a small picture (taken by my quilt guild) of one of my machine quilts, “Paula”. It’s twin-size with a mixture of modern florals and vintage fabric scraps.

I’ve always been a creative and crafty person, and in late 1999 a large part of my mother’s recovery from breast cancer was a woman’s sewing group, which is where I learned to machine sew. I always loved the process, however it felt too removed for me. I needed to be closer to my work. I continued collage and crochet work, which I still engage in frequently, but sewing sort of fell to the wayside.

Skip to not too long ago, my mother has returned to quilting, and I decided to join her. The freedom and control one has over her quilt at every step was very appealing to me, and I find myself especially drawn to piecing… But much of my work can’t even be seen, because I’m working so small! I’m obsessed with the intricacy I can employ, and the immediate contact I have with the fabric. I like free motioning, but again, it feels a little too removed. I’ll keep quilting, though, because I need the outlet. I think the quilt is an immensely intimate product, and I love that.

549434_474092642656637_652470192_n

Leave a Reply

